Honda Grom banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to the Grom community so I'm trying to get and idea of what's available. Is there a reputable vendor that sells a complete "turn-key" engine package that would, say, double the stock Grom's horsepower or even just provide a 50 percent increase in hp?

·
Registered
702 Posts
Grom Fatherz. No other choice.

If you want a complete engine, that's the ticket. His most recent 230ish cc Grom motor just put down 40hp.

·
Registered
725 Posts
I'm new to the Grom community so I'm trying to get and idea of what's available. Is there a reputable vendor that sells a complete "turn-key" engine package that would, say, double the stock Grom's horsepower or even just provide a 50 percent increase in hp?
Depends how much you want to spend. You could also call your local scooter/motorcycle shops and see what they can do with your budget.

·
Registered
508 Posts
Grom Fatherz. No other choice.

If you want a complete engine, that's the ticket. His most recent 230ish cc Grom motor just put down 40hp.
That's a good choice if someone wants to spend 6k.

A REALISTIC suggestion would be DHmotoring's all inclusive TB186 kit with his flashed ECU for around $500, which will bump you up to about 16hp.

·
Registered
793 Posts
From what i've been hearing 4 or 5k.
I love my Grom and I'll probably end up spending a cumulative thousands on it. What I don't understand is buying a $3,500 Grom and then throwing twice that at it to make it faster. For $5,000 or $6,000 you could have an excellent used sport bike. Two bikes are better than one.

That's a good choice if someone wants to spend 6k.

A REALISTIC suggestion would be DHmotoring's all inclusive TB186 kit with his flashed ECU for around $500, which will bump you up to about 16hp.
How reliable is an engine with a bore that large? Also, does the crankcase have to be bored out for a piston that size?

·
Registered
178 Posts