Honda Grom banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
8,398 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Since I've been running or using the Takegawa 181-4v BBK kit for a couple of years I came to the conclusion "which is my second post on the subject" that the piston should be made by JE or Wiseco and the exhaust valve stem or even the intake valve stem should have a little more thickness in them.

300F degree is not your friend to the piston shelves that hold the piston rings or even the valve stem.

I did notice on the 5 axis heads for the Takegawa 181-4v the company has cut into the valve stem guide and to me that will be your weak point if you are going to use your Takegawa 4v grom for a daily rider.

Yes 4v takegawa engine make really good power but with the issues I mention above you are going to be constantly changing out the piston, maybe the cylinder and maybe the heads.

As for ECM to control the A/F for these engines I believe the Aracer unit is a good choice, stand alone ECU seems to make it a little EZ for adjusting the right A/F for power an also for cooling down the piston tops at high speed running.

Even with a external oil cooler and good dia hose for the return lines, it is critical that you monitor your head temps, cylinder temps and oil temps and know when to back down on the RPM when your engine temps goes up pass 250F esp on the heads. External fan could be your friend for flowing air over the head or cylinder.

So far for me the Takegawa 181-4v is the best BBK kit followed by the Koso 170-4v BBK kit.

Food for thought those fingers for the valve adjustment are bullet proof and I have yet to have one fail on me with all the crazy testing and high speed run that I do.

One weak point on the takegawa head is the circular clip that holds in the cam, I had one come off and spin into the flywheel housing and get all bent up and caused problem to the charging circuit. Not sure how the clip came loose.