Honda Grom banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
Grom in Disguise
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Please move if you don’t want this here!
figured this would be a better spot than the Monkey or Grom sections.

Fleshing out this idea a bit more. After commuting on the bike quite a bit over the past couple of weeks since getting it I have decided that this bike is a great candidate to make something really fun out of. It’s zippy, nimble, and crazy light feeling. I didn’t realize that the bike truly is more or less a Grom with big wheels weight wise, as well. It does have its shortcomings, however. My biggest gripe right now is that it’s an absolute dog on takeoff. I can feel the bike take a second or two to change from slipping the clutch to get going to engaging the clutch and revving through first gear. Given the limiting factor (power) the trail cub’s slightly lower gearing really is this auto clutch’s bread and butter. Then again, my background is dirtbikes, specifically trail bikes with crawl-at-idle first gears, and this is my first street only bike. Regardless I’m very tempted to go up one tooth in the rear. The bike can almost hold 50 on a hill, and my biggest fear in changing gearing is loosing that. So, my next consideration is power. And after doing research, I’ve determined that I’m too broke to go with a big bore super head kit plus tuning plus tuning hardware plus exhaust plus…Ahhhhh. I would also like to add that the mini community (think Z50, CT70, etc.) has really spoiled me in terms of aftermarket part availability. I understand from a business perspective why WeBike only has like 7 aftermarket exhausts for this bike, but that doesn’t mean I have to like it😤.