Honda Grom banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm planning on taking a MSF Course soon and as a noob I want to know if it's hard to learn how to ride a motorcycle?

·
Registered
4,049 Posts
No. My son is mentally retarded. He has been riding since he was 4 1/2. He is 17 now and still tests out at a 2-3 y/o mental level. Part of the low score is the fact that much of the test is verbal based and he is really non-verbal. Point is, if he can do it you can do it. Have fun.

·
Registered
1,283 Posts
No. My son is mentally retarded. He has been riding since he was 4 1/2. He is 17 now and still tests out at a 2-3 y/o mental level. Part of the low score is the fact that much of the test is verbal based and he is really non-verbal. Point is, if he can do it you can do it. Have fun.
I got nothing to top this, no its not hard can you drive a stick shift car and ride a bicycle? If so you are 70% here.

·
Registered
659 Posts
The only thing easier than a small motorcycle is a scooter with no clutch to mess with. When you switch from a motorcycle to a scooter you just have to remember the rear brake is where the clutch would be on a motorcycle, otherwise you get an abrupt unexpected jolt if you try to squeeze the clutch which is really a brake. There was one gal rode her own 50 cc scooter to take the msf course when I took it several years ago. The Grom would be an excellent bike for the msf course, but of course they provide bikes for you...250 cruisers like the Suzuki GZ250 and Honda Rebel generally and if you are just learning, they don't get too upset if you drop one of theirs...generally.

·
Registered
475 Posts
It's not hard, that's what the class is designed for. If you enjoy something, learning how to do it right shouldn't be hard....just fun.

·
Registered
325 Posts