Honda Grom banner
1 - 20 of 71 Posts

·
Premium Member
1,753 Posts
'Taint as easy as it should be for a maintenance item, but it is doable. It requires aclutch cover gasket kit and possibly a kick start seal unless you can save the original. Wait, no kickstart on these... duh.

·
Registered
530 Posts
Awesome. Never had a bike with an "oil strainer", what is it and how often should I be changing it?

·
Registered
2,446 Posts
I'll check when I get home if someone hasn't already posted it.

·
Registered
1,283 Posts
Not hard at all but I'm an ex mechanic and avid motorcyclist that does all my own maintenance.

The good part is many of these bike will not see 7500 miles till the second or third owner. That's likely two plus years for most average riders.

·
Premium Member
1,753 Posts
Not hard at all but I'm an ex mechanic and avid motorcyclist that does all my own maintenance.

The good part is many of these bike will not see 7500 miles till the second or third owner. That's likely two plus years for most average riders.
And, years from now, many of these bikes will find their way to guys like you and me who will find 7 LBS of sludge in the slingers. :encouragement:

·
Registered
659 Posts
This part is not like an air cleaner or spark plug that needs more linear service. There is good anecdotal evidence that says you might want to clean it early. Why? Because that is when the predominance of metal shows up in the oil...the first 200 miles with a hard break in and a little later with the factory break in. I plan to service it at 2500 for the first time. Most likely it won't get another cleaning for a long time, maybe at 14,000 mi, but that first one seems like the most important one to me, just like changing an oil filter. I always change early too. I hope someone beats me to it though and reports back that they found absolutely nothing inside it. Then I might not be in such a hurry to do it, but I think it will be dirty at 2500 mi. Your thoughts?

·
Registered
57 Posts