Honda Grom banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
From those of you who've done big bore conversions, what's the mpg you're getting out of it, horse power, if you have time let us know about your weight/height, the terrain where you ride - details like that that could affect mpg. What other parts you've upgraded on it that could affect mpg (I'm new to this and I understand that using a racing cam leaves the ports open more, which gives more phowar' = more gas).

I'm looking to build a fun "commuter" that can be stunted and which has enough power to go safely on the highway. I don't want it to be the 1/8 mile race winner; rather a cross between power with a bit of range per tank of gas. I'm thinking of the Kitaco Neo 181, but I said it would be more interesting to cross-reference data from various big bore builds. I was thinking of doing a 250/300 swap but the only thing that bums me out is the short range on a a tank of gas - not sure I want to refill every 80-100 miles or so. Also, I wanted to keep Grom's weight low, close to original, so a big bore makes more sense.

·
Registered
272 Posts
I have a stock bore 125cc with 36T rear sprocket, intake, exhaust, cam, and ecu flash. I refuel every 90-100 miles, but I'm also wide open everywhere all the time. I can hit 76mph in a tight tuck. I assume a BBK would drastically reduce range but maybe not. You might not have to push it so hard.

·
Registered
234 Posts
Going to 181 cc and tuning it well, I lost maybe 5-10 mpg... amounting to a few bucks over the life of the bike. Nothing major.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Going to 181 cc and tuning it well, I lost maybe 5-10 mpg... amounting to a few bucks over the life of the bike. Nothing major.
Def more concerned about range than $ with this one. Like I said, I'd hate to be in a hurry or have to hit certain points in the city and have refueling on my mind every 100 km (60 miles).