Honda Grom banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
95 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I went to install a cam in the bike today and things took a left turn on the very first step. I went to remove the crankshaft hole plug and things took an immediate left turn. The plug uses a 10mm allen, and I have a set of metric hex sockets so I figured I'd be good. I'm no pro, but I know these can be problematic if you don't get a good purchase on the fastener. So I push the hex into the plug with one hand and slowly turn the ratchet with the other. I feel it start to give way so I stop to see if I can just twist it off by hand the rest of the way. Then I see the hex has stripped out the plug!

I look up on the internets and apparently this is not too uncommon. Some people drill and tap for two bolts that they then use to turn the plug out, but I saw one guy said he used the tool from his grinder with two pins. I have a grinder with just such a tool so I drill a couple of appropriate sized indentations and tap the tool into place with a hammer to make sure it gets a good bite. Again I press against it with one hand and push down with the other. It also starts to rotate and then comes loose entirely, but it is the tool that comes loose, not the plug. I look down and one of the pins of the tool has bent! I straighten the pin with a pry bar and then drill the holes just a touch more to get more bite. I repeat the process (except no more drilling) a couple times, sometimes using a hammer in attempt to rotate the tool. When I'm about to throw in the towel, I feel the plug loosen. Hooray! I'm able to twist it out the rest of the way by hand.

Removing the plug, I see the o-ring is torn as I had drilled into it, and there is a small nick on the casing. I'm hoping this will not be a problem. I will likely hit it with a small file to ensure it's not burred before I replace the plug and the o-ring.