Honda Grom banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Premium Member
232 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok I know a few people have shown interest in my budget suspension. I have access to my GF stock grom for reference. I'm a 230lbs rider. Disclaimer: I am by no means a professional at anything suspension related so take what I say with a grain of salt. Skip to the end if you want the conclusion without reading all my jibberish.

For those who haven't followed here is what I did.

Front forks:
Ohlins spring upgrade (not the full kit) $75
20wt oil $10

Rear suspension:
MNNTHBX swingarm bushing with install kit & fork tool $199
Forsa rear shock $170

$454.00 total (didn't include shipping because that will vary based on location.)

First I'll talk about the forks. The spring upgrade made a big improvement over stock. When i sit on a stock grom I feel like I instantly lose about an 1-1/2" of suspension before the stock springs start even attempting to do their job. Now I sit down and it engages properly. The 20wt oil also helped BUT at my size I think 30wt is what needs to go in. I'm going to be switching it out as soon as my 30wt arrives. I think this is where the full Ohlins kit shines. It addresses the piss poor stock valving. I'll report back my findings once I get 30wt in. Overall it was definitely a nice upgrade for $100. If you can swing the extra coin for the full kit I would imagine it would be the best choice due to the improved valving but on a budget even with the 20wt I would say this is a great improvement.