Honda Grom banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter #1
My con rod let go today on the way to the gas station, died as soon as I hit the parking lot. Fired it back up and heard a low-toned knock and instantly suspected the crank. A truck ride home and an hour later, I found glitter oil, slight scarring on cylinder and piston, worn oil pump, a bad con-rod bearing and guessing from the bluing on the rod, the crank is bad too. No big pieces in oil strainer or spinner, everything else looks good.

Being I'm an experienced mechanic, I know better than to think I know it all, especially these little honda engines. Hopefully someone can help prevent a mistake or oversight.

My bike is a 2014 with a stock cylinder bored to 170 and a wiseco piston, approximately 60.4mmx61mm, pc5 and at, straight pipes and k&n filter.

I've got these in mind to fix it.

Koso 186cc bbk -$260
OEM oil pump -$17
OEM crank, con rod & bearing -$120
OEM crank bearing -$18

So, $415 to get her running again, already have oil and gaskets, anything else?
I plan on upgrading to 5spd, kitaco cover, kitaco pump, and forged crank/rod so the previously stated list is only to get her temporarily moving again.

Any ideas? Alternatives? Thanks in advance!!!!!
I can post pics of engine parts tomorrow if needed, anything to get a little help.

I already miss her.....馃槶馃槶馃槶

Registered
2020 Honda Monkey and others
Big bore but no oil cooler?

If you are going for more power with the big bore you have more heat and less metal to deal with it plus more internal crankcase pressure.

For a big bore you should add:
heavy duty oil pump
oil cooler
crankshaft support bearing
heavy duty cam chain tensioner and button
a little stronger clutch springs
correct temperature range sparkplug
appropriate tuning to stay cool