Honda Grom banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Looking for info on doing 5 gear install. Right now I'm topping out at 62-64. Just looking for a little more, to keep ahead of idiot drivers. So far this is my setup. Yoshimura exhaust, take 143bbk, chimera intake, pcv, wb2, kitaco clutch cover , super pump, oil cooler 4 fin. Plus cosmetic stuff also. Not looking to swap motors or anything just do a 5th gear. So any Info or products you could point me to would be appreciate. And if you have already done 5th gear, how easy was it? Any problems u ran in to? Thanks again.

·
Registered
238 Posts
It's easy, but the tools cost a bit to do the case work. Totally worth every penny. Think I've got the Takegawa kit, but it's been so long I'm not sure.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
What tools were needed? Are they grom specific tools. I'm a mechanic so I've got a big tool box.. lol.

·
Super Moderator
2020 Honda Grom
1,395 Posts
I'm not convinced you will increase your top speed with an extra gear, probably just better acceleration and still maintain a similiar top speed. I do not have a 5 speed, but if you don't have enough power to turn your gearing to redline now, extra gearing probably will not help. What sprockets front and rear are you using?

Reactions: Chillis

·
Registered
1,086 Posts
5th gear does not add top speed. A 5speed transmission will give you more usable gears while riding and helps you get up to speed. Change the front and or rear sprocket to get more MPH I have done several motor builds and if your local to me ( bay area ca) I would help you install

·
Registered
2020 Honda Monkey and others
792 Posts
What tools were needed? Are they grom specific tools. I'm a mechanic so I've got a big tool box.. lol.
Flywheel puller, crankshaft install tool, oil spinner removal tool, the special socket for clutch basket removal.

I bought a complete kit from webike japan website. Will be doing mine in a few weeks.