Need help, removed wrong bolt changing oil! Help!
Close
Login to Your Account
Honda Grom Forum

This is a discussion on Need help, removed wrong bolt changing oil! Help! within the Grom Talk forums, part of the Honda Grom Forums category; I was doing the first oil change and pulled a ply I thought wa the oil plug, left hand lower case. It had a funny ...

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Like Tree3Likes

Thread: Need help, removed wrong bolt changing oil! Help!

This user has no status.

Member #
    Odometer

I was doing the first oil change and pulled a ply I thought wa the oil plug, left hand lower case. It had a funny looking spring behind it! I wiped it off, reinstalled it with the skinny end of the spring up and went and found the correct oil ply bolt and did the oil change.

However, now I am afraid to start the engine without knowing what damage I might have done by removing the wrong bolt with the spring, what is that bolt and spring?

Yes, I know, stupid, and I am a professional mechanic to boot. But I wear tri-focals and I mistook the bolt stupidly, it was totally obvious it was wrong, real dumb.

New Monkey 125, 100 mile oil change. Sorry to barge in unannounced, hope y'all will not be angry with me.

Thank you,
    J

is doing grom things

Member #
    You're good dude. Just popped out the timing chain tensioner spring bolt. Provided everything went back in, and in the same order, you're fine.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G935A using Tapatalk

This user has no status.

Member #
    Odometer
    Thank you. The only thing that came out was a long spring with a large end and a small end. I put the small end in first which is the way I think it jumped out and the bolt has a groove machined in it which appears to be made to accept the large end of the spring.