How do aftermarket cams work?
Close
Login to Your Account
Honda Grom Forum

This is a discussion on How do aftermarket cams work? within the Grom Performance forums, part of the Honda Grom Garage category; Perhaps this is a dumb question, but I'm new at this, and couldn't really find anything conclusive. I know what the camshaft does; it controls ...

Like Tree3Likes
  • 1 Post By nd4spdbh
  • 2 Post By Paultergeist

Thread: How do aftermarket cams work?

This user has no status.

Member #

Perhaps this is a dumb question, but I'm new at this, and couldn't really find anything conclusive.

I know what the camshaft does; it controls the opening and closing of the valves that allow ingress of air/fuel and egress of exhaust. (Though I'm certainly open to being corrected on that front!)

So what does an aftermarket cam do differently/better that allows it to give a motor more power?

Thanks for your patience!

This user has no status.

Member #
    Typically an aftermarket cam will have more lift and duration... that is, it opens the valves more, and keeps them open longer.... allowing the motor to breathe better and thus perform better. That stated, depending on your riding you will want to get a cam that suits your needs. I run a Kitaco type 2 cam, its relatively mild (not tons more lift and duration than stock), I tried a TB cam (which is a copy of the DCR cam) which is pretty aggressive, and made the motor loose bottom end power and torque in favor for high rpm riding. For my needs i much preferred the Type 2 cam behavior.

There is much more to it but thats the general gist of it.

This user has no status.

Member #
    Odometer